Executive Committee

The Executive Committee serves as the governing body of the Academy and is the final authority for all policies of the Academy. The Executive Committee is composed of the current AAA Executive Committee Members.

  • President: Tom Reichert, University of Georgia
  • President Elect: Karen King, University of Georgia
  • Past-President: Michelle Nelson, University of Illinois
  • Vice President: Eric Haley, University of Tennessee
  • Secretary: Jennifer Ball, Temple University
  • Treasurer: Steve Edwards, Southern Methodist University
  • Executive Director: Patricia B. Rose, Florida International University

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee recommends candidates for the Academy's Distinguished Service Awards, Kim Rotzoll Award for Advertising Ethics and Social Responsibility, "Sandy" and Billy I. Ross Awards. Nominates and selects annual Outstanding Contribution to Research awardee.
Chair: Joe Phelps, University of Alabama [email protected]

  • Jef Richards, Michigan State University
  • Charles "Ray" Taylor, Villanova University
  • Helen Katz, Starcom MediaVest Group
  • Padmini Patwardhan, Winthrop University
  • Pat Rose, Florida International University (ex officio)

Communication Committee

This ad-hoc committee is responsible for overseeing the associations' communications.
Chair: Erin Willis, University of Colorado – Boulder [email protected]

  • Scott Hamula, Ithaca College
  • Jameson Hayes, University of South Florida
  • Valerie Jones, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Eunjin (Anna) Kim, Southern Methodist University
  • Joonghwa Lee, University of North Dakota
  • Summer Shelton, University of Florida

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee advises the Executive Committee on handling of monies and audits the Academy finances. Members may not be on the Executive Committee currently or in the past three years.
Chair: Sally McMillan, University of Tennessee, [email protected]

  • Herb Rotfeld, Auburn University
  • Joyce Wolburg, Marquette University
  • Tom Kelleher, University of Florida

Global and Multicultural Committee (f/k/a International Advertising Education Committee) (GMC

The Global and Multicultural Committee is responsible for examining the proper role of the Academy in international advertising education.
Chair: Juliana Fernandes, University of Miami [email protected]

  • Anthony (Hoyoung) Ahn, Pepperdine University
  • Charles R. Taylor, Villanova University
  • Edoardo Teodoro Brioschi, Universita Cattolica Del Sacro Cuore, Italy
  • Hemant Patwardhan, Winthrop University
  • Ilwoo Ju, Saint Louis University
  • Jong-Hyouk Jung, Texas Christian University
  • Jun Heo, Louisiana State University
  • Olga Shabalina, South Ural State University, Russia
  • Osnat Roth Cohen, Ariel University, Israel
  • Sunny Tsai, University of Miami
  • Sydney Chinchanachokchai, University of Akron
  • Chang-Dae Ham, University of Illinois
  • Eunice Kim, University of Florida
  • Wonsun Shin, University of Melbourne
  • Claire Segijin, University of Minnesota
  • Jhih-Syuan (Elaine) Lin, National Chengchi University
  • Gunwoo Yoon, University of Miami
  • Sid Muralidharan, Southern Methodist University

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee promotes membership in the Academy.
Chair: Hojoon Choi, University of Houston [email protected]

  • Yang Feng, San Diego State University
  • Soojung Kim, University of North Dakota
  • Joe Phua, University of Georgia
  • Jim Pokrywczynski, Marquette University
  • Kasey Windels, Louisiana State University
  • Tae Hyun Baek, University of Kentucky
  • Yolanda Cal, Lynn University
  • Sabrina William, Winthrop University

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee prepares a slate of officer nominations, conducts the election, and recommends candidates for Academy Fellows. Consists of the past three Presidents of the Academy.

Publications Committee

The Publications Committee makes policy, oversees Academy publications (including the Journal of Advertising, the Journal of Interactive Advertising), and selects the annual Journal of Advertising Best Article Award. By AAA Constitution By-laws (Article I-7), comprised of nine members, serving staggered four-year terms.
Chair: Marla Royne Stafford, University of Memphis (2019) [email protected]

  • Russ Laczniak, Iowa State University (2018)
  • Carrie Le Ferle, Southern Methodist University (2019) (replaces Karen King)
  • Hairong Li, Michigan State University (2019)
  • Sukki Yoon, Bryant University (2020)
  • Debbie Treise, University of Florida (2018)
  • Sela Sar, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2020)
  • Les Carlson, Nebraska (2021)
  • Hye Jin Yoon, Southern Methodist University (2021)

Research Committee

The Research Committee encourages research by members, solicits applicants for Academy research grants and dissertation awards, and selects the awardees.
Chair: Sigal Segev, Florida International University [email protected]

  • Nathaniel J Evans, University of Georgia
  • John Ford, Old Dominion University
  • Harsha Gangadharbatla, University of Colorado-Boulder
  • Phil Kitchen, ESC Rennes School of Business
  • Yoon-Joo Lee, Washington State University
  • Shelly Rodgers, University of Missouri
  • Patrick Vargas, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Kevin Wise, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Sun Joo (Grace) Ahn, University of Georgia
  • Kelly Chu, DePaul University
  • Kacy Kim, Elon University
  • Anna McAlister, Endicott College
  • Jorge Villegas, University of Illinois-Springfeld
  • Taylor Wen, University of South Carolina
  • Linwan Wu, University of South Carolina